User login



The church of St. Bogorodica Eleusa, Veljusa – Strumica

  • Notice: Undefined variable: controls_top in include() (line 10 of /home/cultmap/public_html/sites/all/modules/views_slideshow/contrib/views_slideshow_singleframe/views-slideshow-singleframe.tpl.php).
  • Notice: Undefined variable: pager_top in include() (line 10 of /home/cultmap/public_html/sites/all/modules/views_slideshow/contrib/views_slideshow_singleframe/views-slideshow-singleframe.tpl.php).
  • Notice: Undefined variable: image_count_top in include() (line 10 of /home/cultmap/public_html/sites/all/modules/views_slideshow/contrib/views_slideshow_singleframe/views-slideshow-singleframe.tpl.php).
  • Notice: Undefined variable: controls_bottom in include() (line 20 of /home/cultmap/public_html/sites/all/modules/views_slideshow/contrib/views_slideshow_singleframe/views-slideshow-singleframe.tpl.php).
  • Notice: Undefined variable: controls_bottom in include() (line 22 of /home/cultmap/public_html/sites/all/modules/views_slideshow/contrib/views_slideshow_singleframe/views-slideshow-singleframe.tpl.php).
  • Notice: Undefined variable: image_count_bottom in include() (line 24 of /home/cultmap/public_html/sites/all/modules/views_slideshow/contrib/views_slideshow_singleframe/views-slideshow-singleframe.tpl.php).

One of the most picturesque monasteries in Macedonia

About the raising and the building of this church there was an inscription on a marble plate, witch was taken by the Bulgarian occupant during the First World War. Beside the other things, in the inscription on the plate was written that the monastery church of St. Bogorodica Eleusa was raised by the bishop of Strumica Manojlo in 1080. The plate with the inscription was standing above the front door in the naos (cella). It is considered that soon after the building, the church was painted.

This church is important because of its architecture, mural picturesqueness, mosaic floor and the marble iconostasis. This is the only church from this period with that kind of architectural concept. In the basis it is a tetraconch (four leaved clover), and above it it’s raising an octagonal dome. The facades on the north, east, and south conch are animated with two rows of niches made of bricks.

In the later period, the church will be exposed to damages and rebuilding. From the primal building is left the church with the narthex and the south paraklesis. Later it was added on the church the exonarthex with porch on the south side. Later, on the south and on the west side, were also added porches. But, because of the high architectonic value of the church, during the preservations, these porches were removed.

  • English
  • Македонски